Tuesday, 16 June 2015 09:21

SA, Nigeria top nominees at MTV Mamas

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)

mamasSouth Africa and Nigeria have the most nominees for this years's MTV Africa Music awards, which are taking place in Durban on July 18.
Nigeria's Seyi Shay.

The nominees for the MTV Africa Music awards (Mama) 2015, which were announced in a celebrity filed event in Johannesburg’s Harem, Design District in Rosebank on Thursday night, include Yemi Alade and Wizkid from Nigeria.

Yemi and Seyi Shay where nominated in the best female category while Wizkid was nominated in the best male with the likes of Davido and AKA.

Some of the South Africans nominated include Cassper Nyovest, Bucie, AkA and Busiswa. There was joy and celebration as some of the musicians were announced as nominees.

Speaking to the Mail & Guardian at the event, Nyovest said he is excited and looks forward to the main event in Durban. The Mama 2015 is taking place in Durban for the second time and will be hosted at the Durban International Convention Centre.

“I have been working hard. I love performing on stage and the Mama’s give you that opportunity to perform and showcase your talent.”

Rapper HHP who also attended the event said he believes Nyovest will make it in the categories nominated for. “It is important for me to see him [Nyovest] making it. The boy has been working hard and it is time that his work speak for itself.”

Absolut is sponsoring the best New Act Transformed category and the nominees are: Anna Joyce from Angola, Nyovest, Duncan, Patoranking from Nigeria and Stonebwoy from Ghana. Absolut plans to garner support for the nominees through their supporter video shout-outs and live in-market performances, and via “Africa is Absolut” campaign. The campaign celebrates Africa’s unique and creativity.

Phillip Sithole, head of Durban Tourism, said the Mama’s are a reflection of the rapid growth and music potential of the African continent. He stated that the awards gives the City of Durban an opportunity to showcase its beauty.

A total of 70 nominees were revealed at the event, across 13 different categories.

Nominees for additional categories, including the MTV Base Leadership Award and Best International Act, will be revealed at a later date. Voting is open and the public can vote for different categories on www.mtv.com

Mama 2015 full nominees list:

Best Male

AKA (South Africa)
Davido (Nigeria)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Sarkodie (Ghana)
Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Female

Bucie (South Africa)
Busiswa (South Africa)
Seyi Shay (Nigeria)
Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania)
Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

Best Group

B4 (Angola)
Beatenberg (South Africa)
Black Motion (South Africa)
P-Square (Nigeria)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Best New Act Transformed by Absolut

Anna Joyce (Angola)
Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
Duncan (South Africa)
Patoranking (Nigeria)
Stonebwoy (Ghana)

Best Hip Hop

Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
K.O. (South Africa)
Phyno (Nigeria)
Olamide (Nigeria)
Youssoupha (DRC)

Best Collaboration

AKA, Burna Boy, Da LES & JR: “All Eyes On Me” (SA/ Nigeria)
Davido featuring Uhuru & DJ Buckz: “The Sound” (Nigeria/ SA)
Diamond & Iyanya: “Bum Bum” (Kenya/ Nigeria)
Toofan & DJ Arafat: “Apero Remix” (Togo/ Ivory Coast)
Stanley Enow & Sarkodie: “Njama Njama Cow Remix” (Cameroon/ Ghana)

Song of the Year

Cassper Nyovest: “Doc Shebeleza” (South Africa)
Euphonik featuring Mpumi: “Busa” (South Africa)
DJ Fisherman & NaakMusiQ featuring DJ Tira, Danger & Dream Team: “Call Out” (South Africa)
K.O featuring Kid X: “Caracara” (South Africa)
Lil Kesh Featuring Olamide & Davido: “Shoki Remix” (Nigeria)
Mavins: “Dorobucci” (Nigeria)
Sauti Sol: “Sura Yako” (Kenya)
Toofan: “Gweta” (Togo)
Wizkid: “Show You The Money” (Nigeria)
Yemi Alade: “Johnny” (Nigeria)

Best Live

Big Nuz (South Africa)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Flavour (Nigeria)
Mi Casa (South Africa)
Toofan (Togo)

Video of the Year

“Crazy” – Seyi Shay Featuring Wizkid; Director: Meji Alabi
“Doors” – Prime Circle; Director: Ryan Kruger
“Love You Everyday” – Bebe Cool; Director: Clarence Peters
“Nafukwa” – Riky Rick; Director: Adriaan Louw
“The Sound” – Davido Featuring Uhuru & DJ Buckz; Director: Sesan

Best Pop & Alternative

Fuse ODG (Ghana)
Jeremy Loops (South Africa)
Jimmy Nevis (South Africa)
Nneka (Nigeria)
Prime Circle (South Africa)

Best Francophone

DJ Arafat (Ivory Coast)
Jovi (Cameroon)
Laurette Le Pearle (DRC)
Tour 2 Garde (Ivory Coast)
Toofan (Togo)

Best Lusophone

Ary (Angola)
B4 (Angola)
Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
NGA (Angola)
Yuri Da Cunha (Angola)

Personality of the Year

Basketmouth (Nigeria)
Bonang Matheba (South Africa)
OC Ukeje (Nigeria)
Trevor Noah (South Africa)
Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)


Read 1871 times